Le Modèle NeuroAffectif Relationnel™
[NARM]

L'Autorégulation dans la Pratique Clinique


Dans les années récentes, le rôle de l’autorégulation est devenu une partie importante de la pensée psychologique. Le Modèle Relationnel NeuroAffectif™ (NARM) apporte la compréhension actuelle de l’autorégulation dans la pratique clinique. Ce modèle ressource et non-régressif participe fortement à aider les individus à établir la connexion aux parties du Self qui sont organisées, cohérentes, et fonctionnelles. Il rentre dans la pleine conscience et dans l’organisation les parties du Self qui sont désorganisées et dysfonctionnelles sans faire de ces éléments de régression ou de dysfonctionnement le thème principal de la thérapie.

Les Principes de Base
L’approche du NARM se concentre sur les tâches fondamentales et sur l’unité fonctionnelle du développement psychologique et physiologique. Le modèle NARM:

Intègre une orientation au système nerveux et une orientation relationnelle.

Fournit des interventions cliniques bien informées sur le plan développemental.

Utilise l’attention somatique et l’orientation vers les ressources pour ancrer l’autorégulation dans le système nerveux.

Lie l’orientation clinique et le corps en l’aidant à accéder à ses capacités d’autorégulation et en soutenant la re-régulation du système nerveux.

Cinq Thèmes Développementaux Organisateurs
Il y a cinq ressources centrales et cinq thèmes développementaux essentiels à notre capacité d’être présent au Self et aux autres dans l’ici et maintenant.

Le Contact. Nous sentons que nous faisons partie du monde. Nous sommes en contact avec notre corps et nos émotions, et sommes capables de relations consistantes avec les autres.

L'Harmonisation. Nous savons ce dont nous avons besoin et nous pouvons exprimer nos besoins et nous réjouir de l’abondance que la vie nous offre.

La Confiance. Nous avons une confiance inhérente en nous-mêmes et en les autres. Nous nous sentons suffisamment en sécurité pour permettre une interdépendance avec les autres.

L’Autonomie. Nous pouvons dire non et fixer nos frontières. Nous disons ce que nous pensons sans culpabilité ni peur

L’Amour-Sexualité. Notre cœur est ouvert et nous pouvons intégrer nos relations affectives, amoureuses et une sexualité vitale.

Dans la mesure où ces cinq besoins de base sont satisfaits, nous éprouvons une sensation de régulation et d'expansion. Nous nous sentons en sécurité et sommes confiant de notre environnement. Nous sommes connectés en nous-mêmes. Dans la mesure où nos besoins de base ne sont pas satisfaits, nous développons des styles de survie pour faire face à la déconnexion et à la déregulation.

Un Changement Fondamental
Tandis que bon nombre de psychothérapies psychodynamiques sont orientées vers l’identification de la pathologie et focalisent sur les problèmes, le NARM est un modèle de thérapie qui accentue le travail avec les aptitudes ainsi qu’avec les symptômes. Ce modèle est orienté vers les ressources, tant internes qu’externes, afin d’augmenter les aptitudes pour la régulation du Self.

Au cœur de ce qui peut ressembler à un large éventail de symptômes physiques et émotionnels, la plupart des problèmes physiologiques et psychologiques peuvent être reliés à une perturbation dans l’un ou plusieurs des thèmes organisateurs inhérents à ces cinq styles de survie.

Initialement, ces cinq styles de survies sont adaptatifs; ils représentent la réussite et non pas la pathologie. Toutefois, parce que le cerveau utilise le passé pour prévoir l’avenir, ces styles de survie demeurent fixés dans notre système nerveux et dans notre identité. C’est la persistance des styles de survie appropriés au passé qui déforme l’expérience présente et crée les symptômes. Une fois ayant survécu leur utilité, les styles de survie créent la déconnexion.

Dans le NARM, l’attention est moins dirigée sur le « pourquoi » que sur « comment » le style de survie déforme l'expérience présente.

Le Métaprocessus
Chaque tradition thérapeutique a un métaprocessus implicite. Ce dernier apprend aux patients à prêter attention à certains éléments de leur expérience et à en ignorer d’autres. Quand les thérapies se concentrent sur le manque, sur la douleur et le dysfonctionnement, les patients deviennent habiles à s’orienter vers le manque, la douleur et le dysfonctionnement. Le fait de se focaliser sur les difficultés du passé ne réduit pas suffisamment le dysfonctionnement et n’améliore pas l'autorégulation.

Le métaprocessus pour le modèle NARM est l’awareness du Self dans le moment présent. Le patient est invité à un processus fondamental d’enquête:

"Quels sont les schémas qui m'empêchent d'être présent à moi-même et aux autres dans l’ici et maintenant?"

Nous explorons cette question aux niveaux d’expérience suivants: cognitif, émotionnel, felt sense, et physiologique. Le métaprocessus NARM implique deux aspects d’awareness:

  • Une attention centrée sur le corps
  • L’awareness des principes organisateurs des styles de survie

Le NARM explore l'histoire personnelle dans la mesure où les schémas du passé interfèrent avec la capacité d’être présent et en contact dans l’ici et maintenant. Cette thérapie invite les clients à s’engager dans un processus actif d’enquête sur leurs styles de survie, mettant à profit leurs aptitudes.

En utilisant une double conscience ancrée dans le moment présent, le client devient attentif aux schémas du passé tout en ne tombant pas dans le piège de rendre le passé plus important que le présent. L'approche NARM renforce progressivement la connexion du Self dans le moment présent. Le fait de pister le processus de connexion/déconnexion, régulation/dérégulation dans le temps présent aide les clients à se sentir moins victimes de leur enfance.

Le travail avec les subtils changements du système nerveux est fondamental et interrompt les tendances prévisibles du cerveau et ajoute une efficacité significative. C'est la connexion à notre corps et aux autres personnes qui apportent la re-régulation guérisseuse. L’utilisation des techniques qui soutiennent la connexion avec le Self et les autres contribuent à une re-régulation efficace.

Bottom Up et Top Down (De Bas en Haut et de Haut en Bas)
Il y a de continuelles boucles d’information allant dans deux directions:

  • Du corps au cerveau: bottom up (de bas en haut)
  • Du cerveau au corps: top down (de haut en bas)

Il y a des boucles similaires entre les structures du cerveau.

Les approches top down accentue le rôle des connaissances et des émotions. Les approches bottom up se centrent sur le corps, le felt sense et les réponses instinctives comme elles sont véhiculées à travers le tronc cérébral vers l’organisation des niveaux plus élevés du cerveau. L’utilisation des orientations bottom up et top down élargi les options thérapeutiques.

Le NARM intègre les deux approches: bottom up et top down.

Le Travail avec l’Élan Vital
Le mouvement spontané en nous tous tend vers la connexion. Peu importe notre histoire personnelle ou les traumatismes que nous avons expérimentés, comme une plante qui s’oriente spontanément vers le soleil, il y a en chacun de nous une impulsion qui tend vers la connexion. Cette impulsion de l’organisme vers l’élan vital est le carburant de l’approche NARM.

Copyright 2009-2011, Laurence Heller

 

Adaptive Survival Styles
and
Mindful Self-Regulation
in Clinical Practice

To Purchase CLICK HERE

 


Back to top

 

 

Dr. Heller can be reached by email at info@drlaurenceheller.com

Website Contact: Victor Osaka

The NeuroAffective Relational Model™
[NARM]

Mindful Self-Regulation in Clinical Practice


In recent years the role of self-regulation has become an important part of psychological thinking.
The NeuroAffective Relational Model™
(NARM) brings the current understanding of self-regulation into clinical practice. This resource-oriented, non-regressive model emphasizes helping clients establish connection to the parts of self that are organized, coherent and functional. It helps bring into awareness and organization the parts of self that are disorganized and dysfunctional without making the regressed, dysfunctional elements the primary theme of the therapy.

Core Principles
The NeuroAffective Relational Model™ focuses on the fundamental tasks and functional unity of biological and psychological development. The NARM model:

    • Integrates both a nervous system based and a relational orientation.
    • Brings developmentally-informed clinical interventions that use somatic mindfulness and an orientation to resources to anchor self-regulation in the nervous system.
    • Works clinically with the link between psychological issues and the body by helping access the body’s self-regulatory capacities and by supporting nervous system re-regulation.
    • Uses mindful inquiry into the deeper identifications and counter-identifications that we take to be our identity.

In the NARM approach, we work simultaneously with the physiology and the psychology of individuals who have experienced developmental trauma, and focus on the interplay between issues of identity and the capacity for connection and regulation.

NARM uses four primary organizing principles:

    • Supporting connection and organization
    • Exploring identity
    • Working in present time
    • Regulating the nervous system


Five Organizing Developmental Themes
There are five developmental life themes and associated core resources that are essential to our capacity for self-regulation and affect our ability to be present to self and others in the here-and-now:

• Connection. We feel that we belong in the world. We are in touch with our body and our emotions and capable of consistent connection with others.
• Attunement. Our ability to know what we need and to recognize, reach out for, and take in the abundance that life offers.
• Trust. We have an inherent trust in ourselves and others. We feel safe enough to allow a healthy interdependence with others.
• Autonomy. We are able to say no and set limits with others. We speak our mind without guilt or fear.
• Love-Sexuality. Our heart is open and we are able to integrate a loving relationship with a vital sexuality.

To the degree that these five basic needs are met, we experience regulation and connection. We feel safe and trusting of our environment, fluid and connected to ourselves and others. We experience a sense of regulation and expansion. To the degree that these basic needs are not met, we develop survival styles to try to manage the disconnection and dysregulation.

Chart Core Need and Associated Capacities

A Fundamental Shift
Whereas much of psychodynamic psychotherapy has been oriented toward identifying pathology and focusing on problems, NARM is a model for therapy and growth that emphasizes working with strengths as well as with symptoms. It orients towards resources, both internal and external, in order to support the development of an increased capacity for self regulation.

At the heart of what may seem like a wide range of physical and emotional symptoms, most psychological and many of physiological problems can be traced to a disturbance in one or more of the five organizing developmental themes related to the survival styles.

Initially, survival styles are adaptive, representing success, not pathology. However, because the brain uses the past to predict the future, these survival patterns remain fixed in our nervous system and create an adaptive but false identity. It is the persistence of survival styles appropriate to the past that distorts present experience and creates symptoms. These survival patterns, having outlived their usefulness, create ongoing disconnection from our authentic self and from others.

In NARM the focus is less on why a person is the way they are and more on how their survival style distorts what they are experiencing in the present moment. Understanding how patterns began can be helpful to the client but is primarily useful to the degree that these patterns have become survival styles that influence present experience.

The Metaprocess
Each therapeutic tradition has an implicit metaprocess. The metaprocess teaches clients to pay attention to certain elements of their experience and to ignore others. When therapies focus on deficiency, pain, and dysfunction, clients become skilled at orienting toward deficiency, pain, and dysfunction. Focusing on the difficulties of the past does not sufficiently reduce dysfunction nor support self-regulation.

The metaprocess for the NARM model is the mindful awareness of self in the present moment. The client is invited into a fundamental process of inquiry:

“What are the patterns that are preventing me from being present to myself and
others at this moment and in my life?”

We explore this question on the following levels of experience: cognitive, emotional, felt sense, and physiological. NARM explores personal history to the degree that patterns from the past interfere with being present and in contact with self and others in the here-and-now. It brings an active process of inquiry to clients’ relational and survival styles, building on their strengths and helping them to experience a sense of agency in the difficulties of their current life.

The NARM metaprocess involves two aspects of mindfulness:

    • Somatic mindfulness
    • Mindful awareness of the organizing principles of one’s adaptive survival styles

Using a dual awareness that is anchored in the present moment, a person becomes mindful of cognitive, emotional, and physiological patterns that began in the past while not falling into the trap of making the past more important than the present. Working with the NARM approach progressively reinforces the connection to self in the present moment. Tracking the process of connection/disconnection, regulation/dysregulation in present time helps clients connect with their sense of agency and feel less like victims of their childhood.

Using resource-oriented techniques that work with subtle shifts in the nervous system adds significant effectiveness. Working with the nervous system is fundamental in disrupting the predictive tendencies of the brain. It is connection to our body and to other people that brings healing re-regulation. Using techniques that support increased connection with self and others is instrumental in supporting effective re-regulation.

Bottom-Up and Top-Down
There are continual loops of information going in both directions from the body to the brain and from the brain to the body. There are similar loops within the lower and higher structures of the brain, that is between the brain stem, limbic system, and cortex.

NARM uses both top-down and bottom-up approaches. Top-down approaches emphasize cognitions and emotions as the primary focus. Bottom-up approaches, on the other hand, focus on the body, the felt sense and the instinctive responses as they are mediated through the brain stem toward higher levels of brain organization. Using both bottom-up and top-down orientations greatly expands therapeutic options.

Working with the Life Force
The spontaneous movement in all of us is toward connection and health. No matter how withdrawn and isolating we have become, or how serious the trauma we have experienced, on the deepest level, just as a plant spontaneously moves towards the sun, there is in each of us an impulse moving toward connection. This organismic impulse is the fuel of The NeuroAffective Relational Model™.

Copyright 2009-2012, Laurence Heller

 

Trauma Symptoms/Resolution Checklists

To assess your trauma symptoms click here

To assess your trauma symptoms resolution click here

 


 

Adaptive Survival Styles
and
Mindful Self-Regulation
in Clinical Practice

To Purchase CLICK HERE

 


Back to top

 

Dr. Heller can be reached by email at drheller@drlaurenceheller.com

Website Contact: Victor Osaka