The NeuroAffective Relational Model™


Mindful Self-Regulation in Clinical Practice

Order Now!

To Order

Healing Developmental Trauma presents a comprehensive exploration . . . . Seasoned clinicians Larry Heller and Aline LaPierre weave a rich and coherent synthesis of childhood development in the pioneering tradition of Wilhelm Reich, Erik Erikson, and Alexander Lowen. This well-organized, valuable book offers easy-to-understand tools for all of us who are seeking a better understanding of our fundamental conflicts.

Healing Developmental Trauma provides clear guidance to help us hold, with knowledge and self-compassion, a vital and accessible map supporting emotional maturity and psycho-spiritual growth.

Peter A Levine, PhD, author of In an Unspoken Voice: How the Body Releases Trauma and Restores Goodness and Waking the Tiger: Healing Trauma.


In recent years the role of self-regulation has become an important part of psychological thinking. The NeuroAffective Relational Model brings the current understanding of self-regulation into clinical practice. This resource-oriented, non-regressive model emphasizes helping clients establish connection to the parts of self that are organized, coherent and functional. It helps bring into awareness and organization the parts of self that are disorganized and dysfunctional without making the regressed, dysfunctional elements the primary theme of the therapy.

Core Principles
The NARM approach focuses on the fundamental tasks and functional unity of biological and psychological development. The NARM model:

Integrates both a nervous system based and a relational orientation.

Brings developmentally-informed clinical interventions that use somatic mindfulness and an orientation to resources to anchor self-regulation in the nervous system.

Works clinically with the link between psychological issues and the body by helping access the body’s self-regulatory capacities and by supporting nervous system re-regulation.




Dr. Heller can be reached by email at

Website Contact: Victor Osaka